This is the "Library Reserves" page of the "Reserves Policies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Reserves Policies   Tags: course reserves, help, library reserves, reserves  

This guide explains to faculty the library reserves procedures and policies for books, visual and audio material, and electronic reserves.
Last Updated: Dec 11, 2014 URL: http://purchase.libguides.com/reserves Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Library Reserves Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Reserves Policies

Course Reserves

Physical Library Reserve Requests

All requests to place items on phsyical library reserve must be submitted through Moodle.

Be sure to add the Library Reserves block to your course(s).

Please see the tab for placing physical reserve requests (books, DVDs, Blu-rays, CDs, LPs, etc.)


Note: In order to comply with copyright laws, the Library will not hold or reserve films that are not originals (i.e. copies). If you need assistance locating texts, media, or other original materials, please Ask a Librarian.

If the Library does not own an item, you can place a request to purchase the item from within the Library Reserves block in Moodle. 

To request that the Library buy an item to add to the general collection (i.e. you will NOT place this item on reserve for your classes), please contact your subject liaison.


Making Resources Available Electronically in Moodle

We recommend that you link to digital course materials obtained from a website, library catalog, or subscription database (i.e. electronic articles, ebooks, etc.) directly in your Moodle course.

You are encouraged to link to content in library databases whenever possible in order to comply with copyright law and accessibility standards. When linking to library subscription content (i.e. database articles, ebooks, etc.), remember to use the ezproxy prefix in the URL to ensure your students can access content from off-campus. 

To find articles, search the library databases or use the citation lookup tool. To find ebooks, use the resources on the ebooks guide. Your subject liaison can also work with you to locate electronic versions of your course materials. If you would like the Library to purchase an ebook, please email Susanne.Markgren@purchase.edu.

If you need to scan a book chapter, article, or other item(s) that are not available digitally, librarians can assist you with using the Library’s scanners. The Library has three large, touch-screen book scanners for faculty and student use. You can scan a document to PDF, Searchable PDF, Word, JPEG, or TIFF format and email the file to your Purchase email account or save it to a USB flash drive. You can then make the file available in Moodle for your students.

If you plan to make a book chapter available, keep in mind that fair use law restricts the amount of a work you may scan or copy. If you want your students to read more than 20% of a book, we recommend that you link to the ebook in your course Moodle or place the entire print book on physical reserve.

 

Processing Time

Requests are processed in the order that they are submitted.

If the item is in our collection, please allow up to two (2) weeks for processing.

If the item is not in our collection, you may request that we purchase the item. Please note, it can take up to eight (8) weeks to process a new addition to the collection and place the item on reserve. (In some cases it can take longer depending on how difficult the item is to obtain.)

 

Interlibrary Loan & Reserves

Interlibrary Loan materials (books, DVDs, CDs) may not be placed on course reserves.

You may request a film through Interlibrary Loan for in-class viewing purposes only.

 

Reserve Team Contact Information

If you should have any questions or concerns, please contact:

The Reserve Team
lib.reserve@purchase.edu
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip