This is the "Find Multimedia" page of the "Finding Multimedia" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Multimedia   Tags: help, multimedia, subject  

This guide will show you where to find video, audio, and multimedia.
Last Updated: Nov 5, 2014 URL: http://purchase.libguides.com/multimedia Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Multimedia Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

This guide provides access to video, audio, and multimedia resources available in databases and for free on the Internet.

Duke Ellington and his orchestra playing in France

"Duke Ellington et son orchestre." Mid-1950s. From NARA.

See full video at Internet Moving Images Archives.

 

Looking for a DVD?

You can find films, music, documentaries, DVDs, VHS, CDs, and LPs at the Library!

Search for the title of the item you want in the  Purchase Library Catalog (see search box at the top of this page)

Search Tips:

If you use the "advanced search" option, you can type DVD in the search box and select "Material Type."

After searching for a title, you can click "DVD" on the left column to limit your search results to DVDs. 


 

New DVDs

New additions to our DVD collections

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Search the Library Catalog

Wordle: Purchase

 

advanced search


Search the catalog to find books, journals, films, sound recordings, scores, and more.

Databases with Video

Look for digitized videos, documentaries, and film clips in the following databases.

  • Academic Video Online: Premium
    An ever-growing resource that comprises content from 39 full video collections and 8 bonus discipline clusters. Academic Video Online: Premium currently contains more than 40,000 full video titles (not just clips) and well over 20,000 hours of content.
  • Kanopy Streaming Service
    A streaming platform with a broad catalog of over 26,000 streaming videos to choose from, representing more than 800 leading producers such as Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, HBO, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Medcom, Green Planet Films, BBC.
  • Naxos Video Library
    A performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, and EuroArts. Playlists with customized clips from any video are easily created for educational use. DVD booklets are included with valuable information about the works, artists and composers.
  • Internet Moving Image Archive
    This online library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download. Contains many films from the National Archives, known as FedFlix.
  • Opera in Video  
      
    The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors. Uses streaming video and includes the ability to save playlists and clips.
  • American History in Video  
      
    The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Covers historical areas from the Revolutionary Era to the Late Twentieth Century.
  • Dance in Video  
      
    Contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Uses streaming video, and includes the ability to save playlists or clips.
  • VAST: Academic Video Online
    Thousands of video titles in a wide range of disciplines, carefully selected to meet departmental needs and include documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and news reels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. [Note: VAST is part of a larger collection of streaming videos from Alexander Street Press called Academic Video Online: Premium.]

Databases with Audio

Look for audio, music, podcasts, and sound recordings in the following databases.

  • Naxos Music Library  
      
    A sound-streaming service that provides access to a distinguished collection of classical music, historical recordings, and jazz, plus world, folk, and Chinese music.
  • World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
    Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. International in scope and coverage.
  • Oxford Music Online  
      
    Access Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Search funcationality includes subject and historical period filters tailored to suit the content of each work.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Covers social issues and current event topics. Includes audio/video reports, NPR stories, as well as viewpoint articles. Select "Audio" or "Video" options under "MORE" above the search box in the upper right.
  • National Jukebox
    These recordings of music, speeches, humor readings, and key moments in U.S. history are streamed for free online from the Library of Congress. Also includes Sony's collection of pre-1925 album artwork and biographies of musicians. Recordings in this collection are not downloadable.
 

Websites with Video

 

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Websites with Audio

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip