Key Resource
Digital Images Collections Guide, created by Scott Spicer of the University of Minnesota Libraries, is a curated bibliography of quality image collections spanning about 85 subjects. These resources include both licensed content and open online collections of images.
If you can't find what you are looking for with the links on this page, definitely check this guide out!
Image Credit: Key Grove; detail of key with building entrance in background. Photographer: Clark Wiegman.
Purchase College Images
You can search the following for locally-produced images, whether photographs of campus or artistic works produced by Purchase staff, faculty, and students.
For more help finding and using images, visit Purchase's Visual Resources Collection.
- EmbARK Web KioskA digital image archive accessible to all Purchase faculty, students, and staff. The purpose of the Kiosk is to reflect and support the course offerings of the college as well the research interests of the faculty and students. The Kiosk is updated regularly, so check back often for updates and new images.
- Purchase College Library on FlickrThis Flickr photostream contains pictures of the Purchase College Library. All rights reserved.
Political Cartoons
These databases and websites contain political/editorial cartoons from the past and present.
NPR's The Picture Show
Suggest a link!
Have a favorite art-related web site? Tell me about it!

Roy Lichtenstein, Art, 1962; Oil and magna on canvas. © Estate of Roy Lichtenstein.
Image Databases
Over 1 million images:
maps, art, diagrams, posters, objects and more.
Can't find what you need in Artstor? Try these....
- AP Images Extensive collection from the Associated Press (AP) archives. Includes photographs, audio files, and articles, plus the current year's AP photos.
- Art Museum Image GalleryA rich digital resource of art images and related multimedia gathered from the collections of distinguished museums from around the world.
- Cinema Image GalleryHigh-quality images of films in production: directors working on-set with the stars, set, costume and production design as well as hair and make-up shots and rare behind-the scenes material; extensive TV stills archive and thousands of pictures of the stars of this medium.
- Credo ReferenceAccess thousands of images using Image Search; many are black and white. Now includes National Gallery of Art, London images.
- EmbARKVisual Resources Collection of over 5,000 digitized images.
- Oxford Art Online More than 5,000 images from the texts, and from places such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Museum of Modern Art (MOMA), Art Images for College Teaching (AICT), and the Artists Rights Society. Use the "Search for Images Only" search box.
- Underground and Independent ComicsFocuses on adult comic books and graphic novels, beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s to the works of modern sequential artists.
Art Images
- AMICA LibraryThe AMICA Library contains over 108,000 works of art from the collections of contributing museums worldwide. Cultures and time periods range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works.
- Art Images for College TeachingAICT is intended to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large.
- Art in Context Image CollectionBrowse art images by media, nationality of the artist, or subject term. Covers 20th and 21st century artists.
- Art Knowledge News Image Library I20,000 plus fine art and photography images from known and mid-emerging artists with complete captions.
- Art Knowledge News Image Library II20,000 plus fine art and photography images from known and mid-emerging artists with complete captions.
- Art ResourceHigh quality images of painting, sculpture, architecture and the minor arts from most of the world's major museums, monuments, and commercial archives.
- ArtcyclopediaComprehensive index to over 7,000 artists and links to approximately 80,000 works, primarily painting and sculpture.
- Bridgeman ArtAccess to thousands of fine arts images and browsable by subject; registration required to save images and high resolution, watermark-free images available with purchase.
- C2RMF: Digital Technologies in Service of PreservationOffers high definition images from French art museums such as the Louvre, Musee d'Orsay, and Rodin Museum.
- Digital Image Collections WikispacesFree and fair-use digital image collections; searchable and browsable by art historical movement, geographic location, or medium; created by Wellesley College.
- Google Art ProjectExplore selected galleries virtually, through a kind of “interior” street view; offers extremely high resolution images of artworks contained within those galleries/museums;form virtual collections of artworks that can be shared and annotated.
- New York Public Library Digital GalleryNYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library.
- New York Public Library Picture Collection OnlinePresents more than 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923.
- The Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) Online Image CollectionsPortfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in teaching and research.
- Visual Collections-- Images of Art, History, and CultureContains dozens of digital image collections from museums, universities, and private collections throughout the world. Includes fine artwork, photographs, maps, architecture and other items. Some copyright restrictions may apply.
- Web Gallery of ArtSearchable database of European painting and sculpture from 11th to mid-19th centuries; dual mode allows you to view images side-by-side to compare and contrast.
News and Historical Images
These databases and websites contain images related to current events, U.S. history, world history, and culture.
- American Memory ImagesProvides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- AP Images Extensive collection from the Associated Press (AP) archives. Includes photographs, audio files, and articles, plus the current year's AP photos.
- Ephemera StudiesHigh quality digital scans of ephemera; focuses on artifacts preserving obscure information and imagery. (It excludes familiar ephemera such as posters, labels, comic books, and post cards); created by Saul Zalesch at Louisian Tech University.
- Flickr CommonsSearch and use hundreds of images with "no known copyright restrictions." A joint venture of Flickr and the Library of Congress, Flickr Commons was designed to increase access to publicly-held photography collections.
- German History in Documents and ImagesGerman History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present.
- Historic Houses Trust Picture CataloguePhotographs of historic houses and house portraits from the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Illustrated Newspaper Supplements (Flickr Collection)Illustrated newspapers (starting 1909) from the Library of Congress's Historical Newspapers image collection, displayed on Flickr. Contains many public domain images.
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Catalog OnlineView a digital collection of photographs and prints owned by the Library of Congress, dating back to the Civil War. Also includes posters, comics, daguerreotypes, and blueprints.
- NYC Department of Records Image GalleryThe Online Gallery provides free and open research access to over 800,000 items digitized from the Municipal Archives’ collections, including photographs, maps, motion-pictures and audio recordings. The holdings are arranged by collection; or you may search “All Collections” by keyword or any of the advanced search criteria.
- Smithsonian Collections Search CenterSearch all SI collections for images, sound files, videos and digital manuscripts. Select "Only return results with online media."
- Sociological ImagesSociological Images provides thought-provoking images and commentary. A new image or video clip is added each day. Images are from magazines, TV, the press, pop culture, etc. and often serve as examples of sexism, racism, or ageism in advertising.
- Wikimedia CommonsWikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content including images, sound and video clips.
- World Digital LibraryCreated by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
Science Images
- NASA Image Exchange (NIX)Offers public access to NASA's images, videos and audio collections.
- Public Health Image LibraryElectronic gateway to CDC's pictures; open to health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files.
- History of Medicine (IHM)70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.
- Gray's Anatomy OnlineAn online version of the 1918 edition, including over 1,200 illustrations; browse text sections for images in context or click "illustrations" to browse images only.
- National Library of MedicineOnline exhibits on a variety of health topics; features The Visible Human Project, complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies.
- The Oesper Collections in the History of Chemistry, University of CincinnatiMore than 1,000 images and 3-D models highlighting historic chemical apparatus and a circa 1900 chemistry lab, as well as sections under development that will feature portraits, prints, rare books, and journals related to the history of chemistry.
- NBII LIFE CollectionNational Biological Information Infrastructure Library of Images From the Environment - serving well-documented images of nature contributed by individuals and organizations.
- Animal Sound & Video Catalog | Macaulay LibraryA database of animal sounds & videos.
- Vacations.infoHundred of public domain images of vacation spots around the world.
TinEye
TinEye is a reverse image search engine. You can submit an image to TinEye to find out where it came from, how it is being used, if modified versions of the image exist, or to find higher resolution versions.


Loading...


Submit


Loading...
