How Do I Find Articles?
Purchase College Library subscribes to more than 130 research databases in a variety of subject areas. In order to find articles and citations to articles, you will need to search within these databases.
Don't know which database to use? Academic Search Complete or ProQuest Research Library are good starting points for many subjects.
What if the database does not have an electronic version of the article? Most databases will have a Find It button that may link you to the electronic version of the article in another full text database. You can also search Journals by Title to locate electronic copies, or do a Title Search in the catalog to see if a print version is available in the library.
But what if the Purchase College Library doesn't have the journal you need? Purchase College students, faculty and staff may submit an Interlibrary Loan request to obtain copies of the articles you need from another institution; if the article is available, a copy will be delivered electronically to you.
Journals by Title
Use this search when you have a citation, or want to search within one specific periodical (journal, newspaper, magazine).
Off-campus Access to Library Resources
To use subscription resources from off-campus, you must have a Purchase College email account and you must access the resources from the library’s web site. When you try to access the library's subscription resources (e.g., databases or online journals) you will be asked for your account username and password.
- username = firstname.lastname (e.g., Tess Smith would use tess.smith as her username. Note: do not add @purchase.ed)
- password = your Purchase College email password
Troubleshooting:
If you encounter problems, first try accessing your email account and be sure that your username and password are working properly. If your email is not working properly, contact the CTS helpdesk 914-251-6465. If you are able to access your email, but cannot access our resources, contact Susanne Markgren, Digital Services Librarian, 914-251-6415, or the Library Reference Desk at 914-251-6410.
Note: Be prepared to discuss your problem and any error messages you have received. Often, we need this information to determine exactly what’s wrong and how to help you.
Our subscription resources are restricted to a specific valid group of users. If you're a Purchase College student, faculty or staff and do not have an activated Purchase email account, you can activate your account from the Students Services page or the Employee Services page. Choose “Email Account Activation.”
Databases by Title
The library subscribes to the following databases. They are also listed in the alphabetical tabs above and the subject guides.
- ABI-Inform
- Academic OneFile
- Academic Search Complete
- ACLS Humanities E-Book
- African American Music Reference
- Alt HealthWatch
- America: History and Life
- American Film Scripts Online
- American History in Video
- American National Biography
- The Anthropological Index
- AnthroSource
- AP Images
- Applied Science & Technology Full Text
- Art Full Text & Art Retrospective
- Art Museum Image Gallery
- ARTbibliographies Modern
- artnet
- ARTstor
- arXiv.org
- Asian American Drama
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
- Biological Abstracts
- BioMed Central
- Black Drama
- Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online
- Business Insights: Essentials
- Business Source Complete
- Canadian Reference Centre
- Chemical Abstracts
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- Cinema Image Gallery
- Classical Music Reference Library
- Classical Scores Library (Vols. I and II)
- Computer Source
- Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
- Contemporary Authors
- Contemporary Literary Criticism
- Credo Reference
- Dance in Video
- Design and Applied Arts Index
- Dictonary of Literary Biography
- eBook Collection on EBSCOhost
- ebrary
- EBSCOHost
- Econlit
- Education Full Text
- Education Research Complete
- EmbARK Web Kiosk
- EndNote Web
- Energy & Power Source
- Entrepreneurial Studies Source
- Environment Complete
- ERIC (with Full Text)
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
- Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
- Gale Literary Databases
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
- Google Scholar
- GPO
- Grove Art Online
- Grove Music Online
- Harpweek - the Civil War Era
- Health Reference Center Academic
- Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition
- Historical Abstracts
- Historical British Newspapers - The Guardian and The Observer
- Historical Chicago Tribune
- Historical Los Angeles Times
- Historical New York Times
- Historical Newspapers
- Historical Washington Post
- Humanities Full Text
- Humanities International Complete
- In the First Person
- InfoTrac Newsstand
- International Bibliography of Art
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
- International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
- JSTOR
- Knovel Critical Tables
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama and Fiction
- LexisNexis Academic Universe
- LGBT Life with Full Text
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
- LION -- Literature Online
- Literature Resource Center
- LitFinder
- MathSciNet
- MEDLINE
- MLA International Bibliography
- MLA Literary Research Guide
- Music Index Online
- National Newspaper Index
- National Newspapers Premier
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
- Naxos Music Library
- Naxos Video Library
- NetLibrary eBooks
- New York State Newspapers
- Newspaper Source Plus
- North American Indian Drama
- North American Theatre Online
- North American Women's Drama
- Opera America
- Opera in Video
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
- Oxford Art Online
- Oxford English Dictionary
- Oxford Journals Online
- Oxford Music Online
- Oxford Reference Online
- PAIS International with Archive
- Philosopher's Index
- Physical Education Index
- PILOTS Database
- Play Index
- PollStarPro
- Project Muse
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers (see Historical Newspapers)
- ProQuest National Newspapers Premier
- ProQuest Research Library
- PsycARTICLES
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
- PsycINFO
- PubMed (MEDLINE)
- Reader's Guide Retrospective
- RefWorks
- Regional Business News
- Religion and Philosophy Collection
- Research Library
- Rhizome.org
- RILM : Abstracts of Music Literature
- Rock's Backpages
- ScienceDirect
- Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition)
- Social Sciences Full Text
- Social Services Abstracts
- Sociological Abstracts
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
- Twayne's Author Series
- Twentieth Century North American Drama
- Underground and Independent Comics
- VAST: Academic Video Online
- Vocational and Career Collection
- Women Writers Online
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
- World Wide Political Science Abstracts
- WorldCat
Databases on Trial
The following databases are currently available for a limited time as we consider adding them to the collection.
To request a trial of an online resource, contact Susanne Markgren, Digital Services Librarian.
- Audiobook Collection (EBSCOhostDownload and listen to audiobooks on your computer or your device (all devices and apps supporting Adobe eBook DRM, such as iPod, iPhone, iPad, Nook, Android devices, etc.). This trial is for a small selection of audiobooks. To download, you must have a personal EBSCOhost account (free to signup) and download and install the EBSCOAudiobooks Download Manager. The downloads work with iTunes and with Windows Media Player. [Trial ends May 23, 2013.]
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteIncorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. [Trial ends June 25, 2013.]
- Naxos Spoken Word Library (NSWL)Comprised of over 750 titles of timeless American classics, German classics, plays, philosophical works, and musical biographies. Including works by such notable authors as Plato, Chaucer, Shakespeare, Dickens, Nietzsche, Goethe, and many more, the Naxos Spoken Word Library is a one-stop resource for the classics. The Naxos Spoken Word Library is continuously updated to provide the best selection of classic literature to its subscribers with viewable and printable text from contained works. As with the other streaming library resources, it offers static URL's for all chapters and titles, which makes sharing content easy. [Trial ends June 11, 2013.]
Browse by Subject
- Anthropology
- Art
- Biology
- Chemistry
- Computer Science
- Course Guides
- Creative Writing
- Dance
- Economics
- Environment
- Film / Cinema
- Gender Studies
- General
- Government
- History
- How Do I... ?
- Journalism
- Language
- Law
- Literature
- Mathematics
- Music
- New Media
- Philosophy
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Sociology
- Theatre Arts
Resources
- Library HoursDisplays hours for the library during the regular semesters, breaks and holidays.
- CatalogFind books, films, sound recordings, scores, and more.
- DatabasesSearch for articles, e-books, background information, images and more.
- eJournals and eBooksFind full text ejournals, ebooks, newspapers, magazines.
- Interlibrary LoanRequest an item our library does not own.
- MoodleCampus Learning Management System
- RefWorksCitation management system.

Loading...
