This guide will help you find U.S. and international data and statistics.
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2013
Use this guide to find data & statistics on a wide range of topics. Use the tabs at the top to select the type of data (U.S. general, crime, immigration, education, etc.) or to select international data.
If you have questions, use the chat below, or contact librarian Leah Massar Bloom at (914) 251-6413 or email@example.com.
You can also use this form to submit a chat question. Try that if you're waiting too long.
This service is staffed by librarians from New York State, as well as other parts of the country. You will not necessarily be chatting with a librarian from Purchase College.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This link provides the most current year and requires a Purchase login. For older editions see column next to this one, on U.S. Historical Data.
- American Factfinder from the U.S. Census Bureau
Contains data from the Census, including income, education, health, and much more. You can get data about a very specific geographic area, everything from the national level to a census "block."
- State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
Detailed data on population, education, crime, death rates, energy, and much more. Also available in print at Purchase (most recent: Ref HA202 .A39 & older ones in the stacks: HA202 .A39), though the online version may be more current.
- General Social Survey
The General Social Survey (GSS) conducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor social change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations. From the National Opinion Research Center at the University of Chicago.
- Statistical Resources on the Web
Provides links to statistics on a range of topics. You can browse or search for sites. Maintained by the University of Michigan Library Documents Center
- Fed Stats
Contains official statistical information from the federal government. You can browse or search for statistical information from many federal agencies.
- Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web
Provides links to domestic and international sources of statistics on the web. Covers a wide range of topics.
- New York State Statistical Yearbook
Detailed data on population, employment, health and much more. Contains data on the state, counties, cities, and some data on town/village level. From the Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government at the University at Albany. Also available in print at Purchase (Ref HA544 .A2).
- LexisNexis Academic Universe
Includes polls and surveys, as well as country and state profiles. (If you are off-campus, you will need to login using your firstname.lastname and your Purchase email password.)
- Statistical Abstract of the United States - Earlier Editions
One of the most useful statistical publications. Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. This website has 1878 -2011. For 2012, see: http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/. For newest edition, see US General Data column, next to this one. Also available back to the 1920s in print at Purchase (older editions in the stacks with call # HA202).
- Historical Statistics of the United States (1789-1970)
Includes links to the "Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970" and to "Historical Statistics of the United States, 1789-1945." Data on population, health, labor, the environment, energy, business, and more for the entire country and for states, dating back to the 1700s. Also available in print at Purchase (call # HA 202 .A38).
- Historical Statistics of the United States, Earliest Times to the Present (in Print at Purchase)
Call # Ref HA202 .H57 - Data on population, health, labor, the environment, energy, business, and more for the entire country and for states.
- Historical Census Browser
Data from the Census from 1790 to 1960. You can get data at the country, state, and county level for many variables. Includes data on population, slave population, foreign-born population, education, agriculture, economy, housing and more. Maintained by the Geostat Center at the University of Virginia Library.
- Historical Statistics of the States of the United States : Two Centuries of the Census, 1790-1990 (in print at Purchase)
Call # Ref. HA214 .D63 - Data on the general population, agriculture, manufacturing, as well as admission dates and 1990 land area for states.