Citing ImagesCopyright
This is the "Welcome" page of the "Visual Resources Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Visual Resources Collection  

Last Updated: Dec 2, 2011 URL: http://purchase.libguides.com/VRC Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

The Visual Resources Collection is comprised of over 80,000 slides and over 5,000 digital images.

These images reflect the teaching and research interests of Purchase College faculty and students in the arts, the humanities, and the sciences. Slides and images are freely available to all Purchase faculty, students, and staff and are intended for educational and scholarly use only.

There are two ways you can access the VRC's image collection:

1. Visit the VRC's slide library located in Room 1006C (1st floor of library).

2. Use EmbARK, the VRC's digital collection, to view and use digitized images. 

(See EmbARK help documentation for more information.)

 

Services

Our primary mission is to provide and facilitate access to images, imaging, and related information resources for teaching and research in all departments at Purchase College.  This includes:

  • 35mm scanning (slides)
  • Flatbed scanning (books and other print materials)
  • Instructional support for image resources such as EmbARK and ARTstor
  • Collection archiving

Please see the "Order & Donate Images" tab for more information on how to obtain digital images for teaching and research. 

Photo by Sarah Hill

 

Borrowing Materials

Only Purchase College faculty and graduate students with teaching responsibilities are allowed to check slides out of the VRC.  All others who would like access to the slides should contact the VRC so that we can scan them and make them available online.  

Purchase College faculty and graduate students with teaching responsibilities can check slides out for 2 weeks. For longer periods, permission of the Visual Resources Associate is required.

All slides are subject to recall at any time.

  • Slides should be returned during regular hours directly to the Visual Resources Collection.  The borrower's name should always accompany the returned slides.  Lost (uncleared from user's account) or severely damaged slides will be billed at $10.00 per item.
  • Faculty will be fined $0.25 per day per slide for late returns.
  • Faculty members are asked to show consideration and respect for their fellow borrowers and to return slides promptly. The Library staff reserves the right to deny circulation privileges to any persons who have previously abused borrowing privileges.
  •  

    Contact

    For assistance with visual resources, or to make an appointment to use the collection, contact Kim Detterbeck, Art Librarian

    Email: kimberly.detterbeck@purchase.edu

    Phone: 614-251-6406

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip